Skip to main content

Rainbow Elementary

Dekalb County Schools

About Us

Rainbow Elementary School

Embedded Image for: Rainbow Elementary School (201421016432532_image.jpg)
Nestled in a secure, quiet neighborhood in Southeast DeKalb County, next door to Southwest DeKalb High School and near the Wesley Chapel Public Library, Rainbow Elementary School exemplifies the concept of Community School. Rainbow is known as a Community School with an Open Door Policy.

School Goals
Rainbow Elementary School students have increased in academic achievement. However, even our status as 1996 Georgia School of Excellence does not prevent us from trying to reach higher.

Our Rainbow Community believes that...
  1. every student can experience success when provided with a secure and nurturing environment where high academic standards and exemplary achievement is expected.

  2. we will guide students in becoming responsible decision-makers and contributing members of a multicultural society.

  3. with effective leadership, guidance, supervision, and instructional support, students will be provided with the foundation of becoming knowledgeable, reflective, and enthusiastic learners.

  4. in order to support the school community and ensure that “No child is left behind”, we will implement research-based curricula, which is essential to the continuous process of school improvement.

  5. learning is a life-long commitment which encompasses optimal achievement with every aspect of personal growth.

Some of the techniques we are utilizing in order to accomplish our goals include maximizing time on task; using small group, individualized, and cooperative group instruction; using the new Language Arts programs; emphasizing vocabulary development; increasing student motivation to read; utilizing peer teaching; and teaching test-taking strategies.

PTA Officers

PTA Officers:
President -  Eva Hall
Co-President - Derrick Ritchie
V. P. - Jacqueline Dade-Mack
Secretary - LaTonia Ritchie
Treasurer -  Vacant

PTA Dates

Meeting Dates for 2023-2024 are to be announced.